• THE BOY DOWNSTAIRS
  • THE BOY DOWNSTAIRS

THE BOY DOWNSTAIRS

Completed / Screening

Romantic Comedy

From writer-director Sophie Brooks, THE BOY DOWNSTAIRS is an original romantic comedy about a young woman forced to revisit a former relationship, whilst trying to adapt to her life back in New York after a two-year stint in London.
 
Zosia Mamet exhibits winsome charm as Diana, navigating the rite of passage of every single New Yorker: the search for the perfect apartment. She seemingly finds a jewel of a home, until realising her downstairs neighbour is actually her ex, Ben, whose heart she broke when she left town. She decides to stick it out and keeps the apartment, but Diana’s close proximity to Ben means she must re-examine a love she thought was behind her. 

In the vein of Frances Ha, Maggie’s Plan and Richard Linklater’s Before trilogy, THE BOY DOWNSTAIRS is a vibrant coming-of-age tale that examines the pitfalls of falling in love and growing up.